Upcoming Deadline for Federal Head Start/Early Start Funding in 36 States

The Administration for Children and Families (ACF) will fund Head Start programs in 80 locations in 36 states and Puerto Rico. Applicants can apply for Head Start services only (for children who are at least 3 years old), Early Head Start services only (for pregnant women and infants and toddler up to 3 years old), or both Head Start and Early Head Start services.

See below for a breakdown of all locations where funding is available. Proposals are due in late October with the exception of York County, Pennsylvania, which is due in late August. Check your county’s specific listing for exact dates.

Eligible applicants are limited to local public or private nonprofit agencies, including community-based and faith-based organizations, or local for-profit agencies.  Specific awards vary depending on your geographic location and proposed services, however, the award floor is $500,000 per budget period.

Applicants are strongly encouraged to take this opportunity to design a full day, full year program to meet the needs of parents who are either working, in school, or in job training. This may require collaboration with local child care providers. Additionally, it’s important to note that ACF emphasizes continuity of care when proposing a Head Start program.

Grantees must provide at least 20 percent of the total approved cost of the project. The total approved cost of the project is the sum of the federal share and the non-federal share, but the non-federal share may be met by cash or in-kind contributions, although priority may be given to applicants that can meet their match requirements through cash contributions.

Funds Available in the following counties:

Alabama: Sumter, Crawford, Sebastian, Escambia, Baldwin, Clarke, Huntsville, Madison, Limestone, Chalmbers, Tallapoosa.

Arkansas: Washington, Crawford, Sebastian, Pulaski, Garland.

California: El Dorado, San Francisco County, Colusa, South Los Angeles.

Colorado: Morgan, Towns of Del Norte, Plaza, and South Fork in Rio Grande County.

Connecticut: City of Stamford, the Towns of Darien and Greenwich in Fairfield County, City of Bridgeport and the Towns of Stratford, Fairfield, Trumbull, Easton, and Monroe in Fairfield County, City of Waterbury and the Town of Naugatuck in New Haven County.

District of Columbia

Florida: Palm Beach, Osceola, Seminole, Orange, Duval, City of Jacksonville, Polk, St. Lucia, Brevard.

Georgia: Chatham and Effingham Counties, Hancock, Muscogee, Talbot, Clay, Quitman, Chattahoochee, Stewart, Bulloch, Burke, Columbia, Emanuel, Lincoln, Jenkins, Jefferson, McDuffie, Richmond, Screven, Warren.

Illinois: Morgan and Sangamon Counties, Bureau, Carroll, LaSalle, Lee, Marshall, Ogle, Putnam, Stark, and Whiteside Counties, St. Clair, City of Chicago, Cook.

Indiana: lkhart, St. Joseph Counties, Monroe, Madison, Carroll, Clinton, White.

Kansas: Geary, Wyandotte.

Kentucky: Bourbon

Louisiana: Orleans Parish, Rapides Parish, Beauregard Parish, Avoyelles Parish, Allen Parish, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, La Salle, Tensas Parishes, Morehouse Parish, Bienville, Jackson, Red River, Winn Parishes.

Maryland: Garrett County, Including the city of Oakland.

Massachusetts: City of Worchester, Berkshire, Towns of Randolph and Holbrook in Norfolk County, City of Gloucester, the Towns of Rockport, Ipswich, Manchester, and Essex in Essex County.

Michigan: Lake, Manistee, Mason, Newaygo , City of Detroit, Cities of Southfield and Lathrup, Village within Oakland County.

Minnesota: Freeborn, Olmsted, Cook, Lake, St. Louis, Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Sibley, Watonwan, Waseca.

Mississippi: Covington, Jefferson Davis, Lawrence, Simpson.

Missouri: Bates, Cass, Cedar, Benton, Vernon, St. Clair, Hickory, Morgan, and Henry Counties, Holt, Worth, Gentry, Atchison, Nodaway.

Montana: Blaine, Hill, Liberty.

Nebraska: Cass

New Jersey: Cities of East Orange, Orange, Montclair, Bloomfield, and West Orange, City of Trenton, City of Newark, Somerset.

New Mexico: Dona Ana, including the city of Las Cruces, Lincoln.

New York: Saratoga, Queens and Kings, Cattaraugus, Wyoming, City of White Plains, Oneida, Herkimer, Onondaga, Sullivan, Tompkins, Chautauqua, Suffolk, South Bronx, Towns of Middleton and Port Jervis, Tioga, Schenectady, Columbia.

North Carolina: Mecklenburg, Wilson, Nash, Edgecombe, Durham, Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes, Townships of North Clinton, South Clinton, Little Coharie, Newton Grove, Taylors Bridge, Turkey, Lisbon, and McDaniels in Sampson County.

Ohio: Pike County, Hamilton County (including the city of Cincinnati), Mercer, Jefferson, Belmont.

Oklahoma: Alfalfa, Beaver, Blaine, Canadian, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Kingfisher, Major, Texas, Woods, and Woodward Counties, Muskogee, Hughes and Okfuskee.

Pennsylvania: Philadelphia, York, Bradford, Tioga.

Puerto Rico: Municipality of Ponce

South Carolina: Chester, Lancaster, Union, York, Anderson, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens, Florence, Marion, Dillon, Abbeville, Lexington, Richland, Edgefield, Fairfield, Greenwood, McCormick, Newberry, Saluda, Laurens.

South Dakota: Custer, Fall River, Haakon, Jackson, Lawrence, Meade, Pennington.

Texas: Braziola, Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, Leon, Madison, Robertson, Washington, El Paso, Hudspeth, Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Comanche, Eastland, McCulloch, Runnels, Dimmit, Frio, La Salle, Maverick, Comal, Guadalupe, City of Mesquite, Dallas, Kaufman, Galveston.

Utah: Migrant and seasonal Programs.

Virginia: Danville, Halifax, Mecklenburg.

Washington: Jefferson and Clallam, Lucas, Lewis.

West Virginia: Berkeley, Jefferson, Morgan, Upshur.

Wisconsin: Portions of Waukesha, Washington Counties, Racine.

Wyoming: Laramie

Click here to view your counties’ solicitation. Sort by post date to access the most recent RFP’s.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Judith Fenlon
About Judith Fenlon 165 Articles
Money & Business Editor for The Chronicle of Social Change